Los Angeles Sparks Announce 2020 Schedule

Sparks to Play Mercury On Opening Day July 25 at 3 ET on ABC

LOS ANGELES  – The WNBA announced today the 22-game schedule for the 2020 season being played at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. Regular season games begin July 25 and end Sept. 12.

The Sparks will be featured on Opening Day, July 25, against the Phoenix Mercury at 3 p.m. ET on ABC in a matchup of stars including LA’s Candace Parker, Nneka Ogwumike and Chelsea Gray competing against Phoenix’s Diana Taurasi, Brittney Griner and Skylar Diggins-Smith.

The Sparks will have 13 of their 22 games broadcasted on national television, including Opening Day on ABC, five additional games on ESPN/ESPN2, and seven games on CBS Sports Network. The remaining nine games will be available either on Spectrum SportsNet or WNBA League Pass. An official broadcast schedule is forthcoming.

The team will face each opponent twice and be the designated home team for 11 games and the designated road team the remaining 11 games. At the conclusion of the regular season, a full-length postseason will begin with the top eight teams qualifying for the playoffs. The first and second rounds are single-elimination, and the WNBA Semifinals and Finals are best-of-five.

Led by Head Coach Derek Fisher in his second season, the team will look to build on a successful 2019 campaign where the team finished with a record of 22-12 and made it to the WNBA Semifinals.

The LA Sparks have won three WNBA championships (2001, 2002, 2016) and have qualified for the playoffs in 19 of 23 seasons.

To view the entire 2020 Los Angeles Sparks’ schedule, click here.