Nneka Ogwumike Named Top 25 WNBA Player Of All Time

7 LA Sparks Players Among W25 List

Ogwumike the Only Nominee to Meet All 7 Criteria

The WNBA unveiled today their list of the 25 greatest players of all time, as voted on by a panel of media, coaches, and women’s basketball pioneers and advocates. Current Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike, the 2016 WNBA MVP and World Champion, was among the list of all-time greats.

Ogwumike was the only player of the 72 nominees to meet all seven criteria for the list. A champion on and off the court, Ogwumike is also the WNBA Players Union President and since 2020 helped shepherd in a new Collective Bargaining Agreement which garnered players a 53% pay raise, fortified the plan for the 2020 WNBA bubble at IMG Academy, and led the players in dedicating the 2020 season to social justice. Ogwumike also won the 2018 season-long Community Assist Award for her philanthropy and community service efforts as well as back-to-back Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Awards in 2019 and 2020.

“I am so grateful to have my name listed amongst past and present legends who’ve pioneered the W over these amazing 25 years,” said Ogwumike. “As an athlete on the court, I’m proud of my career and hope to continue to leave a legacy of greatness. What I’ve been able to contribute to the game along with the phenomenal women of this league through generations is one of my greatest accomplishments. Being recognized for any impact I’ve made is a true honor.”

In addition to Ogwumike, current Sparks assistant coach Seimone Augustus made the list as well as Sparks legends Lisa Leslie and Candace Parker.

LOS ANGELES SPARKS W25 MEMBERS (in alphabetical order:)
1. Seimone Augustus (2020)
2. Lisa Leslie (1997-2006, 2008-09)
3. Nneka Ogwumike (2012-Current)
4. Candace Parker (2008-20)
5. Ticha Penicheiro (2010-11)
6. Cappie Pondexter (2018)
7. Tina Thompson (2009-11)

Seimone Augustus Minnesota Lynx (2006-19), Los Angeles Sparks (2020)
A four-time champion with the Lynx, Augustus was an eight-time All-Star selection, five-time All-WNBA pick, Finals MVP and WNBA Rookie of the Year. She scored 6,005 points (15.4 ppg) over 391 regular-season games.

Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2006, 2008-09)
Leslie was a three-time WNBA MVP, two-time Finals MVP and two-time Defensive Player of the Year. She led the league in rebounding three times and her 12 All-WNBA selections are tied for second most. She won two championships with the Sparks.

Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks (2012-present)
The 2016 WNBA MVP is a five-time All-WNBA and All-Defensive team selection and won a championship with the Sparks. She also won the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award the last two seasons and the 2018 WNBA season-long WNBA Community Assist Award.

Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks (2008-20), Chicago Sky (Current)
Parker began her career by winning Rookie of the Year and MVP honors in 2008. She is a two-time MVP, the 2016 Finals MVP with the champion Sparks, a nine-time All-WNBA pick, six-time All-Star and three-time league rebounding leader. She is the reigning Defensive Player of the Year.

Ticha Penicheiro Sacramento Monarchs (1998-2009), Los Angeles Sparks (2010-11), Chicago Sky (2012)
Penicheiro ranks second in WNBA history in total assists, leading the league in the category in seven seasons. She earned one title with the Monarchs, was a four-time All-Star and three-time All-WNBA pick. Penicheiro logged 2,599 career assists (5.7 apg).

Cappie Pondexter Phoenix Mercury (2006-09), New York Liberty (2010-14), Chicago Sky (2015-17), Los Angeles/Indiana (2018)
Pondexter won two championships and one Finals MVP honor in her first four seasons in the league with Phoenix. A four-time All-WNBA selection and seven-time All-Star, Pondexter’s 6,811 career points rank fifth in league history.

Tina Thompson Houston Comets (1997-2008), Los Angeles Sparks (2009-11), Seattle Storm (2012-13)
Thompson’s 7,488 career points rank second in WNBA history. A four-time champion with the Comets, Thompson was an eight-time All-WNBA pick and was selected to participate in nine All-Star Games.