Forward named to her third consecutive All-Star

LOS ANGELES, July 21, 2015 – Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike was voted in as a Western Conference reserve for the Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2015, making her third consecutive All-Star appearance, it was announced today by the WNBA.

Joining Ogwumike as a Western Conference reserve are Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx), Danielle Robinson (San Antonio Stars), DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury) and Plenette Pierson (Tulsa Shock).

Making up the Eastern Conference reserves are Alex Bentley and Kelsey Bone of the Connecticut Sun, Stefanie Dolson and Emma Meesseman of the Washington Mystics, Marissa Coleman of the Indiana Fever and Cappie Pondexter of the Chicago Sky.

In selecting the reserves, the 12 WNBA head coaches voted for six players within their own conference: two backcourt players, three frontcourt players, and a player from either position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team.

Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2015, featuring the Eastern Conference All-Stars against the Western Conference All-Stars at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., will be nationally televised by ABC on Saturday, July 25 at 3:30 p.m. ET.

Following are the reserves for Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2015:

Eastern Conference Reserves:                                                          Western Conference Reserves:

Alex Bentley, Backcourt (Connecticut)                                                     Sue Bird, Backcourt (Seattle)

Kelsey Bone, Frontcourt (Connecticut)                                                    DeWanna Bonner, Backcourt (Phoenix)

Marissa Coleman, Backcourt (Indiana)                                                   Nneka Ogwumike, Frontcourt (Los Angeles)

Stefanie Dolson, Frontcourt (Washington)                                            Plenette Pierson, Frontcourt (Tulsa)

Emma Meesseman, Frontcourt (Washington)                                    Danielle Robinson, Backcourt (San Antonio)

Cappie Pondexter, Backcourt (Chicago)                                                  Lindsay Whalen, Backcourt (Minnesota)


In the case of players who are unable to play due to injury – such as Skylar Diggins, Seimone Augustus, and Lindsay Whalen – replacement players will be named by WNBA President Laurel J. Richie.  Any changes to the starting lineup necessitated by injury will subsequently be made by the head coach of the respective All-Star team.

By virtue of winning their respective conference titles last season, Chicago head coach Pokey Chatman will coach the Eastern Conference and Phoenix head coach Sandy Brondello will lead the Western Conference.

The Los Angeles Sparks will host the Phoenix Mercury (July 21) and New York Liberty (July 22) at STAPLES Center before the Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star 2015 on July 25 in Connecticut.  For Sparks individual and group tickets, in all lower-bowl sections of STAPLES Center, call 844-GO-SPARKS or visit LASparks.com.