Los Angeles’ Nneka Ogwumike Wins 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike has been named the recipient of the 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. This is the second straight Sportsmanship Award for Ogwumike, who joins Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird (2017, 2018) as the only players to earn the honor in consecutive years.

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Ogwumike received 21 votes from a national panel of 46 sportswriters and broadcasters. New York Liberty guard Layshia Clarendon (11 votes) and Atlanta Dream center/forward Elizabeth Williams (seven) finished in second and third place, respectively. Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins (three), Dallas Wings guard Allisha Gray (two), Minnesota Lynx forward Napheesa Collier (one) and 2020 WNBA Most Valuable Player A’ja Wilson of the Las Vegas (one) also received votes.

A nine-year WNBA veteran, Ogwumike has served as President of the Women’s National Basketball Players Association since 2016. As part of the dedication of the 2020 WNBA season to social justice, the league and State Farm named all WNBA players as the recipients of the 2020 season-long WNBA Community Assist Award presented by State Farm for their continued commitment, leadership and collaborative efforts to promote racial equality and systemic change. Ogwumike also won the season-long award in 2018 for her dedication to community outreach.

In the 2020 WNBA season, Ogwumike averaged 13.3 points and 4.8 rebounds in 18 games. The six-time WNBA All-Star was honored as the league’s Most Valuable Player in 2016, when she led the Sparks to the WNBA championship. She was also named the 2012 WNBA Rookie of the Year, which followed her selection by Los Angeles as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 WNBA Draft.

“The 2020 WNBA season is dedicated to Breonna Taylor and combatting systemic racism, sexism and other social injustices. It’s an honor to receive the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award which I believe this year represents all the hard work from the players on and off the court to use our collective platform to enact change,” Ogwumike said on receiving this award.


 Player      Team     Votes
Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks 16
Layshia Clarendon New York Liberty 11
Elizabeth Williams Atlanta Dream 7
Ariel Atkins Washington Mystics 3
Allisha Gray Dallas Wings 2
Napheesa Collier Minnesota Lynx 1
A’ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces 1



Year Player Team
2020 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
2019 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
2018 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
2017 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
2016 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2015 DeLisha Milton-Jones Atlanta Dream
2014 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars
2013 Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings Chicago Sky, Indiana Fever
2012 Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun


2011 Sue Bird, Ruth Riley Seattle Storm, San Antonio Stars
2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs
2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Stars
2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever
2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets
2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun
2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury


2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks