Kia Nurse Named To The 2024 Canadian Women’s National Basketball Team

Canada Basketball and the Canadian Olympic Committee have announced the roster of Team Canada women’s basketball athletes nominated to compete at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. The athletes are:

Natalie Achonwa (Guelph, Ont.)

Kayla Alexander (Milton, Ont.)

Laeticia Amihere (Mississauga, Ont.)

Bridget Carleton (Chatham, Ont.)

Shay Colley (Brampton, Ont.)

Aaliyah Edwards (Kingston, Ont.)

Yvonne Ejim (Calgary, Alta.)

Nirra Fields (Montreal, Que.)

Sami Hill (Toronto, Ont.)

Kia Nurse (Hamilton, Ont.)

Cassandre Prosper (Montreal, Que.)

Syla Swords (Sudbury, Ont.)

Canada Basketball’s senior women’s national team successfully qualified for their fourth consecutive Olympic Games by finishing third in one of four FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualification Tournaments this past February. Paris 2024 will be Team Canada’s eighth appearance in the Olympic women’s basketball tournament since it debuted at Montreal 1976. It will be the first time in 24 years (Sydney 2000) that Canada’s women’s and men’s basketball teams will compete together at an Olympic Games.

Canada’s four current WNBA players – Laeticia Amihere, Bridget Carleton, Aaliyah Edwards and Kia Nurse – will join the team later this month. This will be the second Olympic Games for Amihere, Carleton, and Edwards and the third for Nurse, who represented Canada at Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020.

“We’re excited about the team we’ve built to proudly represent Canada this summer in Paris,” said Víctor Lapeña, Head Coach, Canada’s Senior Women’s National. “After finishing fourth in the last World Cup, we’re looking to take that next step as a program.  Eight players on the team have previously represented Canada at the Olympic Games, and this experience will undoubtedly prove invaluable in key moments throughout the tournament. As we prepare for the Games over the next several weeks, we will continue to prioritize getting better as a group every day until the end of the Olympics.”

The women’s basketball tournament will take place from July 27 to August 11 (Day 1 to 16). Pierre Mauroy Stadium in Lille will host the preliminary phase before the final phase shifts to Paris and Bercy Arena.  Canada’s first tournament game will be on July 29 (11:15 a.m. ET / 9:15 a.m. MT) against host France.